West Ham United FC

The Hammers

Founded: 1895, Stadium: London Stadium (London), Capacity: 60,000

Founded originally by workers from a shipyard and ironworks on the Thames. They moved to the Boleyn Ground in 1904, which remained their home ground until 2016, when they moved to the London Stadium. West Ham have been winners of the FA Cup three times: 1964, 1975 and 1980. The club have reached two major European finals, winning the European Cup Winners’ Cup in 1965 and finishing runners-up in the same competition in 1976. Their supporters are famous for their rendition of “I’m Forever Blowing Bubbles”. West Ham have strong rivalries with several other clubs. Most of these are with other London clubs, especially with Tottenham Hotspur in an East versus North London derby and with Chelsea in an East versus West London rivalry. The oldest and fiercest rivalry is however with Millwall. The two side are local rivals having both formed originally around local companies, with players living in the same localities. In their crest, the principal element of the badge is the crossed pair of rivet hammers, tools that were used in the shipbuilding industry. A yellow or white tower was added from the 1950s onwards. The primary reason for this seems to represent Anne Boleyn’s Tower which stood next to Boleyn Ground until demolished in 1955. A new badge was introduced following the end of the 2015-16 season, when the club moved into the Olympic Stadium. It removes the Boleyn Castle due to the club moving away, leaving just the crossed hammers. The shape of the crest is that of the hull of HMS Warrior, the first warship in the Royal Navy, which was built by Thames Ironworks.
1964 FA Cup Final
1965 E.C.W.C. Final
1975 E.C.W.C. Final
1980-1983, 1985-1987
Back to Historical Football Crests Main Page