PSV Eindhoven

The Farmers

Founded: 1913, Stadium: Philips Stadium (Eindhoven), Capacity: 35,000

Philips’ sports association were established within the famous electrical goods company, and initially recruited players for their professional team from among its employees. The most successful club in the Netherlands after Ajax, they had a period of domination in the late 1980s, when they joined Ajax and Feyenoord as champions in the European Cup in 1988. In 1978 PSV won the UEFA Cup. The team has won the Eredivisie 24 times. They are the club that introduced the Brazilians, Romario and Ronaldo to Europe. Other famous former players of PSV are Ruud Gullit, Ronald Koeman, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Arjen Robben and Memphis Depay. The first PSV logo consisted of a circle in which a light bulb was incorporated. The lamp said “Philips” and above it “sport”. Later it changed into an oval shape with a flag in it where in the flag was again an oval with the letters PSV in it. The logo was introduced as it is today in the mid-1990s. The outer oval is horizontally striped in red and white, on which the flag is placed with the letters PSV made larger and thicker. In 2014, the text ‘EST 1913’ was added to the logo at the bottom of the laurel wreath, which refers to the year of foundation. In May 2020 some minor changes have been made to the logo, the font of “PSV” and “EST. 1913” has been subtly changed. PSV’s main rivalry is with Ajax, with both teams regularly competing for the league title in the last forty years. The PSV fans, whose club has reserved the kit number “12” for them, refer to themselves as boeren (peasants); the word can be heard chanted through the home ground after every PSV goal. Its reference designates taking pride in their Brabantian heritage, as opposed to the metropolitan Amsterdam area. PSV used to have an ongoing rivalry with FC Eindhoven, which originated in the 1910s. FC Eindhoven, being the older team, manifested itself as the “people’s club”, whereas PSV was only open to Philips employees. In the 1940s and 1950s, PSV and FC Eindhoven were both competing for the league title, which increased the feud and divided the City of Light in “red-white striped” and “blue-white striped”

Back to Historical Football Crests Main Page